The trouble is, we think we have the time

I love Pinterest. I could spend hours on it, looking at pretty pictures, dreaming about all these cool things I will make to go in the amazing house I will be living in … you know, some day. And then one day I saw this. 

Image

And it hit me. 

I’m 33. I’m a grown-up. I am a mum. This is my chance. It’s not about dreaming, it’s about DOING. It’s not about hoping to have a nice home, it’s about making a nice home. It’s not about pinning cute pictures of things to do with toddlers, it’s about actually doing them. 

So I’ve decided to make some casual resolutions for the new year, among which was joining the thousands of people who will log on to WordPress this week to create a blog which will be abandoned again soon. I hope I won’t stop with this blog like I have done with countless others. Because I hope to use this blog to hold myself accountable for the resolutions I’ve made. 

One of my resolutions is more of a new theme for my life and the other is quite specific, so I will start with the latter: to learn the geography of Africa so I know where all the countries are. I’m from Africa, so I really should know this, not least because whenever something along these lines comes up in a quiz, everyone stares at me expectantly.

The second one probably deserves its own post, which I hope to write soon. It is SIMPLIFY, and inspired the name of this blog. 

I’ll catch you soon for that update.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The trouble is, we think we have the time

Leave a Reply

